Sri Lanka selection committee headed by Jayasuriya resigns


The Sri Lankan selection committee led by Sanath Jayasuriya has resigned. Apart from losing to Zimbabwe, after losing the Test series against India, the resignations came after losing the first three matches of the one-day series. According to the notification issued by Sri Lanka Sports Ministry, besides this former captain, Ranjit Madurasinghe, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Asaka Gurusingha and Eric Vaishantha also resigned from their post.

It is said that the Board has not officially accepted these resignations. Until it is confirmed, they will remain in their position. It is believed that even after accepting the resignation, they will remain in office till the Indian tour, which ends on September 6, India will play the only T20 match in Colombo on that day.

The selection committee had extended the term of six months in May. It is not yet decided whether Gurushinga’s position will be affected as it is also the manager of the Sri Lankan team and he was inducted in the selection committee in April this year. The Sri Lankan cricket team has not been performing well for some time now.

Earlier this year, he could not beat Bangladesh in any format in the domestic series. After this, the champions could not qualify for the semifinals of the trophy. But after this Zimbabwe defeated him 3-2 in the ODI series on his soil. Whereas India defeated them in the Test series 3-0. Now in the 5-match ODI series Team India has made an unbeatable 3-0 lead.

Sharing is caring!